993 Winter Problem: Trickle Charger doesn’t work OR is the battery dead

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2018, 06:13 PM
Lady993
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 993 Winter Problem: Trickle Charger doesn’t work OR is the battery dead

Hi guys,

993 newbie here..! please help me figure out whether I got a dead battery or my trickle charger isn’t functioning properly. Before I tow it to shop I want to learn what’s happening to solve this myself if possible.

Got the car 2 years ago and each winter I just plugged in the trickle charger for 3 months to let it rest for the season, never has a problem. Last night, I entered the garage and found out the red inferior light wasn’t flashing. Looked at the trickle charger, the light is only on the car part but battery level didn’t show (see pictures).
I

thought about whether the cigarette lighter fuse might have been blown out so I checked. Everything seemed fine.

So in your experience is this an obvious case of a dead battery or something wrong with the cigarette lighter / trickle charger? And if I need to replace the battery ( I’ve found another post with the details), you got a favorite battery brand?

Mine is currently Interstate MTP-91. And gonna guess it’s at least 5-6 years old. There was only 1 owner before me.

All comments welcome and really appreciated it!
Old 02-11-2018, 06:51 PM
mike cap
Rennlist Member

Received 338 Likes on 237 Posts

Easy enough to check the Ctek to see if it’s putting out 12 vdc with a multimeter. If ok then it’s an old and dead battery that won’t take a charge anymore. The battery may have a date code on it and I bet it’s older than you think. I use a Sears Diehard Gold which is probably an Interstate.
Old 02-11-2018, 07:05 PM
IainM
Rennlist Member

Received 300 Likes on 231 Posts

checking voltage with a multimeter is the next step.
Not only is the charger putting out >12V but also what is the battery voltage with and without the charger plugged into lighter socket.