Sponsored by:

Porsche Sport Driving School...My experience

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2016, 02:04 PM
Driven991
Racer

Received 91 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Porsche Sport Driving School...My experience

Just got back from two days at Porsche Sport Driving School in Birmingham, AL. I would highly recommend it for anyone remotely interested in exploring what these cars were designed for and what they will do in a relatively safe and controlled environment.

I work a lot and with kids and all their activities, I don't have much time for track driving but going to work is how I got my Porsche so it works out.

After purchasing my 14 C2S 6 months ago I immediately decided I was going to go to PSDS and so I signed my wife and I up for the course. The weather we had was perfect. 80-86 degrees, sunny and low humidity.

We both did the two day basic course 7am to 445pm both days.

My background is not in racing or motorsports so I am a complete novice. I had attended a 2 day Boss Track attack course/Ford Racing school course at Miller Motorsport (MMS) in Utah about two years ago.

This PSDS course was overall better than the course I did at Miller in someways but not as good in some others.

How was this course not as good as the MMS course?

1. Larger class size.

2. Less track time on the road course and NO track time without lead follow with an instructor.

I am pretty sure it is simply numbers...too many cars and too many experience levels mixed together with some people who want to prove they are the next Mario Andretti and others who were experiencing real speed for the first time and were just plain scared. So I understand why it was done the way it was done.

Both Miller and Barber have excellent facilities. The Miller track is flat and the Barber track has elevations changes which are quite fun and challenging.