Sponsored by:

First P car - 991.2 GTS vs 2024 718 GTS4.0 for same price

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2024, 01:28 PM
doallstuff
AutoX

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Question First P car - 991.2 GTS vs 2024 718 GTS4.0 for same price

Hey all! I am in a fortunate position to be able to afford my first sports car, and I can't decide between an older, 2019 911.2 GTS (26k miles) and an almost-new 2024 cayman gts 4.0 (7k miles). I test-drove both, and I love both; I also love how they look. While I'd love the extra practicality of 911, I am afraid of buying a 5-year-old car. I have zero experience with cars above >15k USD, so I don't know the reality of owning one and the expected maintenance. Both cars are with their original owners, are on Porsche warranty, and are roughly the same price (~115k USD, but keep in mind I don't live in the US).

When it comes to the usage - this would be my daily driver (single and remote working so not driving much), and occasionally a track car - maybe once a quarter

I'd love any input - especially around the car's age. Is my fear of buying a 5-year-old car unreasonable? I can afford the car, and I'll pay cash - but it's still a lot of money
Old 09-02-2024, 01:36 PM
spdracerut
Three Wheelin'

Received 602 Likes on 405 Posts

The only bit of concern on the 991.2 is if the water pump has been replaced or not. Otherwise, heck, a 5 year old car is relatively new to me. My last fun car and motorcycle, I kept each about 16 years. Actually, the car was 18 years old. And I typically keep my daily drivers at least 10years/100k miles.

Personally, I like mid-engine. I can fit everything I need in the frunk of the 718 for everyday use. Even grocery shopping. The 911 could be considered more practical with the back seat as storage; I wouldn't put any humans back there unless they were under 5' tall.

Financially, the 911 has depreciated more. The 911 will be the faster car in a straight line if that's your thing.
Old 09-02-2024, 01:54 PM
doallstuff