Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   991 (https://rennlist.com/forums/991-221/)
-   -   2017 911 or keep my 718 (https://rennlist.com/forums/991/1207216-2017-911-or-keep-my-718-a.html)

BenMo 08-05-2020 11:41 PM

2017 911 or keep my 718

Hello All -
I'm fairly new to the Porsche world. A couple years ago, I purchased a 718 Boxter (2017) PDK. I love the car. Lately, however, I've been looking into a 2017 911 (possible manual). I love having a convertible, but manual convertibles are not easy to find. I have found a few certified manual 911 coupes. My questions: (1) should I stick to the 718 Boxter I have, or trade it in for a 2017 911 (plus another $30k out of pocket), and (2) am I crazy to get a manual - which appears to have a higher maintenance cost associated with it - namely, replacing the clutch every 40k miles or so? I only drive 6k miles per year (and it will be my daily driver), so I feel like the joy of a manual would outweigh the headache. By the way, I think the pdk is amazing - I've just been craving a manual for a while (let me know if you think I'm being foolish).

Appreciate any feedback from experienced Porsche fans.

Many thanks.

drcollie 08-06-2020 12:13 AM

I had a Boxster S prior to getting my manual-trans 991 S Cab. You are correct, there are very few manual 991 convertibles out there, by far the majority are PDK's, I don't know the exact ratio but is around 90%. Convertible buyers tend to like comfort and most are higher optioned vehicles.

What you will mostly see as a difference in the two cars in my experience owning both is that you get a slightly more comfortable car with the 991, and its hugely less claustrophobic when the top is up. If your 718 is a 4 cyl, then there is a big step up in the engine, if you have a the 6 cyl in your car, there's not much difference. Only you can decide if the value is there to swap, both are wonderful drives.