Sponsored by:

Learning to corner 991.1 s cab

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2019, 11:55 AM
adcampo
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Learning to corner 991.1 s cab

This is my second 911 and I'm still learning to corner. It's a little more of a learning curve with the PDK. I've always driven manuals. I've had 5 m cars and a few DE's.

I've got a favorite 90 degree right hand corner I've been practicing on.

Hard acceleration, late braking hard, downshift to 2nd, front tires fully loaded, forceful pull on steering wheel, squeeze gas too wot.

Sound right?
Old 05-05-2019, 02:20 PM
minthral
Pro

Received 43 Likes on 32 Posts

Pretty much. Go in fast then modulate brakes to go through the corner at the tires' limits maybe with some drift, then use all the power on way out. You could brake a little less get on the power earlier with AWD.

Tires and brakes get toast pretty quick.
Old 05-05-2019, 08:06 PM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,370 Likes on 793 Posts

Go to the track, youll learn a lot in 2 days
Old 05-05-2019, 09:31 PM
adcampo
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by Quadcammer
Go to the track, youll learn a lot in 2 days
Thx
Old 05-05-2019, 10:24 PM
Porschefection
Advanced

Received 15 Likes on 3 Posts

Spend some time at a Porsche Experience Center. Some things need to be experienced
Old 05-06-2019, 01:58 AM
BSO
Three Wheelin'

Received 552 Likes on 334 Posts

Did the PEC Atlanta in a PDK C4S, brakes were fantastic and the car was glued to the pavement.

Getting ready to reserve a two-day at the Barber for next month. Really looking forward to that.

The limits available are way impressive.
Old 05-06-2019, 12:11 PM
3Series
Three Wheelin'

Received 89 Likes on 66 Posts

Originally Posted by adcampo
This is my second 911 and I'm still learning to corner. It's a little more of a learning curve with the PDK. I've always driven manuals. I've had 5 m cars and a few DE's.

I've got a favorite 90 degree right hand corner I've been practicing on.