Sponsored by:

Momentum Porsche Houston: Reputation?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2019, 08:10 PM
vjd3
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I wouldn't go for that particular car ... ding on the CarFax will make it too difficult to sell. I have my own 2013 cab (platinum silver/Carrera red) for sale near Boston, it's clean no-stories CPO till March of next year, has half the mileage (15k) and is the same price. However, it's a PDK and not AWD.

I think there are a lot of cars out there without troubling histories and closer to home. I would never trust a dealer without seeing the car in person, particularly in certain states -- Texas and Florida in particular. Lots of cars closer to you where you can see and drive it first. You can usually tell right away if the car's had a hard life. Good luck with your search.
Old 02-13-2019, 10:55 PM
flgfish
Pro

Received 161 Likes on 99 Posts

I have no personal experience with Momentum, but they don't seem to have the best reputation amongst the folks in the local PCA chapter.
Old 02-14-2019, 12:17 PM
hpapad01
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

If the repair was performed by an authorized Porsche repair facility then it becomes part of the CPO certification. If they certify it and later there is an issue with the previous repair/accident then Porsche NA will not pay and the dealer will have to cover the cost. Therefore, if the repair was minor and done correctly then they should not have a problem CPOed it.
Old 02-14-2019, 12:23 PM
jkfuel
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Interesting. I've been to the dealership and have spoken to them on many occasions but have not purchased from them yet. They seem forthcoming if somewhat stingy (won't negotiate much) on the cars I've looked at. I never got the sense that they were being deceitful though with any of the cars I was interested in.
Old 02-14-2019, 12:24 PM
saeyedoc
Pro

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts