Sponsored by:

Track Day Help - 1st timer

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2018, 02:21 PM
Aku700
Instructor

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Track Day Help - 1st timer

Ok, so I purchased my Porsche about 6 months ago and I have driven the crap out of my 15 MT 991.1 GTS in the canyons near Los Angeles/Thousand Oaks, but I think its time to go to my first track day. So, since I don't know anyone who actually tracks their cars, I need help from you guys, what to know? What to bring, do's, don'ts, etc. Advice would be greatly appreciated. Will be going to Buttonwillow in California, about 2.5hrs north of my location. If anyone wants to form a group for this event on July 7th and/or regular runs in the Los Angeles/Thousand Oaks area, that would be awesome. For the track day on the 7th, drive up night before, dinner and have serious fun next day starting at 8am!!! Since its my first time there, I am required to "hire" one of their instructors there until they feel I can drive safely solo, so pretty smart of them.

Now, you might ask about my experience, in my 51 years on this planet, I have probably driven 1 million miles, ya, that's a lot, driven about 30 vehicles in my life, everything from Prius, Chevy Silverado Z71 off road truck, Honda CRX, BMW M6, X5, 911.1 standard, motorcycles such as HondaCBR900RR, Suzuki Hayabusa, etc, in the military drove tanks, armored personnel carriers, dune buggies, Humvees, dirt bikes, so ya, very diverse realm of experience, but at the end of the day, I love corners and love to drive fast. BTW, I just did 12 laps out at Fontana Speedway with Exotic Motors, they have 1.2m track and I got to drive a 991.2 GT3, JUST INSANE, so kinda got hooked on driving more on track now, love the speed. So much fun, no speed limits, no cops, no crap to deal with. The instructors actually teach you how to drive faster, etc, got my lap down from 1.10 to 1.02, so insanely awesome GT3.
Old 06-13-2018, 02:47 PM
arter
Rennlist Member