Sponsored by:

Turning drilled rotors

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2018, 07:10 PM
mymac
Pro

Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Turning drilled rotors

My newly acquired 1012 991 is going to need brakes soon. I'm hoping there is enough meat left to turn rotors one time before replacing ( car has 30k ). So with that in mind I went to my local NAPA shop to inquire about Turning rotors. NAPA guy said he doesn't like turning rotors that are drilled? Should I just buy new Rotors or look for someone else that can turn them? Also whats a good "dust free" brake pad. Thanks, noob here
Old 06-11-2018, 07:43 PM
The Fat Kid
Pro

Received 41 Likes on 33 Posts

I am running these Sebro rear rotors (Porsche front rotors) and they have held up well after four track days with RS29s: https://www.fcpeuro.com/products/por...02-seb-909323c

I can't help with dust-free pads.

Edit to add: I would buy Sebro front/rears instead of turning the old rotors.
Old 06-11-2018, 07:50 PM
Pep!RRRR
Burning Brakes

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

Replace the rotors if necessary. Are they out of spec? It’s a performance car, don’t cheap out on the brakes.
Old 06-11-2018, 10:43 PM
tango131
Instructor

Received 38 Likes on 22 Posts

OP, Ditto what has been stated. Just buy new rotors. They are not that expensive. Can stick with Porsche branded ones (look at Suncoast parts) or go aftermarket from sebro, Zimmerman, Brembo https://www.pelicanparts.com/catalog..._pg2.htm#item7

Install can vary from dealer (over $1000), Indy shop (~$500), or dyi about 2-3 hours all in if you know how to turn a wrench. Search here for dyi guides, it’s fairly simple procedure assuming you have a torque wrench and the correct hex bits.
Old 06-11-2018, 10:47 PM
STG
Race Director

Received 193 Likes on 137 Posts

One does not "turn" 991 rotors. Buy new ones.
Old 06-12-2018, 01:27 AM
Contadino
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts