Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   991 (https://rennlist.com/forums/991-221/)
-   -   rented a 2013 991.1 C2 impressions (https://rennlist.com/forums/991/1066710-rented-a-2013-991-1-c2-impressions.html)

kage65 05-02-2018 05:41 PM

rented a 2013 991.1 C2 impressions

While ive test driven the 991.2 C2, that was a very quick drive with the salesman in the car. Did not really get any sort of feel for the car. So I rented one for the day, albeit a 991.1 This is my first time with a lot of time with one of these cars, after having read about them for quite awhile. Here are some of my thoughts and impressions:

Road noise: I've known these cars have road noise and was expecting it to be pretty bad. All in all I have to say, its not nearly as bad as I was expecting. Yes its there, but i'm also coming from an 05 Corolla. Honestly the 991 may actually have less road noise than that car. I'm not sure I would take a long road trip in this car, but so far the road noise really has not bothered me as much as I thought it would.

Power: I do wish there was more power straight off the line. Its just as I've always read - once you get a bit higher into the RPM's is when the car really starts to take off, but the initial stomp on the pedal does not feel all that fast, at least compared to some other cars ive test driven like the S6.

Other thoughts:
I feel just a tiny bit frustrated driving this car around town. Reason being, to really drive this car like its meant to be driven, I have to be at constant risk of getting a serious speeding ticket, or possibly even being put into handcuffs. I guess this is why people take it to a track. All the time i'm enjoying this car, i'm also constantly scanning for you know who. I've only gotten one ticket in my life and Id like to keep it that way.

Back: