Sponsored by:

Roadside tire removal/repair kit

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2018, 08:10 AM
wareaglescott
Burning Brakes

Received 99 Likes on 57 Posts
Default Roadside tire removal/repair kit

I live about 50 miles from the nearest Porsche dealer. I live 93 miles from my work in the opposite direction. The nearest Porsche dealer is about 30 miles past my work. Worst case scenario I am about 100 miles from the nearest dealer when I am driving to work. I am an airline pilot so showing up late for work is a major problem. The multiple hours it would take to get the car to a dealer on a flatbed in the event of a flat might cause me to miss my entire 3-4 day trip. I really have minimal faith in the included bottle of gunk to fix a flat.

I decided I would at least like to give myself the chance if I become stranded to jack the car up, get the wheel off and put a plug on the tire. ( I am aware these tires are not supposed to be plugged but that is another discussion.) I decided to gather a jack, wrench, quality plug kit to use along with the already provided air pump. I also ordered some of the jack pad adapters which are not pictured but in the mail. I have a plan to modify the base of the adapter to fit securely to the jack. Got some foam from Hobby Lobby and had some gray carpet left over so I made a form to keep everything in position and sort of provide a false floor. I have an old blanket that sits on top. Lose about 2.5" of space at the bottom. Hopefully I will never need to use it but at least I have the option now.

The following 2 users liked this post by wareaglescott:
FlyJacket (12-28-2020), sailorlite (08-21-2023)
Old 04-04-2018, 09:15 AM
CSK 911 C4S
Rennlist Member

Received 802 Likes on 400 Posts

I like the idea.

To store a full size jack and other essentials when I take long trips away from home I just use a small rubbermaid container which fits everything needed and fits nicely in the frunk.