Ideal tire (summer/winter) pressure for Turbo S 20"

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2016, 02:54 PM
tekaefixe
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ideal tire (summer/winter) pressure for Turbo S 20"

Hi dear friends of the Forum : )

Since im new to the Porsche World could you please advise me to which is the ideal tire (summer/winter) pressure for Turbo S 20" ??

Basically the car gives me 3 options after you chose winter or summer tire :

1 - Comfort mode (limited to 270km/h) must tick the box
2 - Full Pressure must tick the box
3 - No box ticked (this means no TPM measurement)

Now im in the full preassure mode but the car is very hard and jumpy. My questions are, when should one use the Full preassure mode? Just to achieve maximum speed? On the track?

If I select none of the boxes can I still achieve max speed? When should this setting be used?

Sorry for so many questions but im really new to this eheh ; )

Have a great weekend everyone and thanks a lot for the help!+
Old 04-15-2016, 07:12 PM
GrandLaker
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I run 32/36 but even when mine was at full PSI from factory it was never jumpy.
Old 04-15-2016, 09:02 PM
worf928
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,007 Posts

Jumpy is in the eye of the beholder ... or... err ... seat of the pants.

There is a noticeable difference in feel between comfort and standard pressures.

I run the comfort pressures.

The standard pressure is to ensure that you can sustain maximum speed without a blowout.

Oh... on a road course you would run lower-than-comfort pressure depending upon expected sustained speed.
Old 04-16-2016, 08:18 AM
porsche42
Racer

I run 34/43 I think that is the comfort pressure in the manual. Works fine for me a tad stiff, but it is a sports car. Certainly not jumpy.
Old 04-16-2016, 02:48 PM
worf928
Addict
Rennlist Member

Part load comfort cold pressure for 20"s, for the 991 TT and TTS is:
31 PSI front
36 PSI rear

Full load is:
33 PSI front
40 PSI rear