Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   991 Turbo (https://rennlist.com/forums/991-turbo-230/)
-   -   quickie review after first day on track (https://rennlist.com/forums/991-turbo/818226-quickie-review-after-first-day-on-track.html)

ajag 06-03-2014 09:20 AM

quickie review after first day on track

I'll write more later, but took the TT out on the track for the first time yesterday at autobahn country club in Joliet, IL w/ LAPS. I'm an intermediate level DE driver, usually running in the top of that group, and pretty experienced w/ this track, have done about 25 days there. Got one good session in and then developed a boost leak near the end of the 2nd session, so car is at the dealer now getting that checked out. Needless to say, my plans to flash her are postponed indefinitely. :) I'll probably run her a few more days on the track before I make that decision.

Impressions: Car is ridiculously quick compared to my C2S, both on straights and the corners. I dropped 8 seconds from my best time w/ the 991 C2S on a very technical track which favors momentum. That was based on Harry's lap timer. so obviously not the most accurate (dropped from 2:54 to 2:46) but still says a lot IMHO. I'm thinking over half that is due to the RWS/PDCC/AWD and the other half due to the power. I was afraid the car would feel a lot more artificial c/w the 991 C2S (which did not have PDCC) but it honestly was not. It just turned in quick and stayed flat. My Gopro crapped out after I recharged it the night before, so unfortunately no vids, but will definitely make sure I get it up and running before my next day.

neanicu 06-03-2014 09:41 AM

Very nice!
Glad to see you've taken it to the track and experienced what it can do!