Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   991 Turbo (https://rennlist.com/forums/991-turbo-230/)
-   -   First impressions with the new 991 TT (https://rennlist.com/forums/991-turbo/793959-first-impressions-with-the-new-991-tt.html)

phillipj 01-05-2014 04:15 PM

First impressions with the new 991 TT

I went by my dealer this morning and they had just gotten in a new TT. Perfect timing as I had hoped they would have one..

I know the salesman well and he said "Good timing.. We just got in a white Turbo yesterday".. I thought "Oh boy.. White my favorite"

The car is a base TT in white with a black interior and red belts. It has steel brakes and 20 inch rims..

I studied the car from all angles. I sat in the car and scrutinized the interior and the ergonomics..

Here are my impressions..

The cars is beautiful from the outside..It's not as big as I had heard.. I'm not too keen on the front bumper design..Looks a bit Japanese.. The back looks great (except for the badging of course.) To me the exterior quite impressive. The sticker on this car was $163k.

I was so excited to get in it..

When I sat in the car one word came to mind. "Cheap".. The seats are awful and look and feel cheap..It even smells cheap. I could have been sitting in a Boxster, Cayman or 991 Carrera and I wouldn't have known the difference. I'm not sure about seat options on the 991 but these were horrible..

In my opinion when you sit in a Ferrari, McLaren, Lambo, Jag, etc they feels very special inside..They feel "expensive" and "exotic". The new TT is generic and boring. In my opinion they dropped the ball on this one in a big way.. Especially since the car (Especially the S which by the way has the same crappy interior.) is selling near the $200k mark..

The steering wheel is bland..The PCM is bland..It's like a Mini Van.. Nothing in the car feels like an exotic sports car.. It feels like a Lexus. I was so underwhelmed.