Turbo S/Need Camera for driving and protection of the car

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2017, 09:10 PM
johnhb1234
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Turbo S/Need Camera for driving and protection of the car

Hi,

I am about to get a 911 Turbo S, I am new to Porsche and am very concerned about people trying to
outdrive me on the road, key my car, etc. because I am going to use this car as my daily driver. While
I've never had a bad traffic stop from a police officer, with this car, I'm wondering if I should get a
camera similar to what I've seen on YouTube, that records conversations in the car.

So I am talking about front/rear surveillance, to show if someone hits my car on the road,
for conversations if I am stopped and for when I'm not in the car. I've been told there are
cameras that can fit over the rear view mirror. I don't know if this is a good solution for a Porsche.
I've also been told that a camera in cars that is always on for surveillance is not typical because
the battery would drain - that would probably be for a camera that looks out to both the right and left
sides of the car.

Please forgive my ignorance, I am technical but know nothing about this topic or what scenarios are typical,
I am guessing. I have heard you might be able to integrate in the front and rear Porsche cameras but suspect
that anything after-market would void my warranty. As a result, while it might be somewhat more expensive,
I'll probably get my dealer to install the solution(s).

I would very much appreciate all ideas and feedback. By the way, I'm now a resident of Fort Myers Beach, FL
and spend about 3 months a year up North.But if you know of a store to purchase the equipment, Jack Daniels
would be happy to do the installation. My car will be here later this week so I have to hurry.

Thanks,

John B.
Old 12-17-2017, 09:44 PM
Dennis C
Rocky Mountain High
Rennlist Member

Received 1,244 Likes on 781 Posts