Reference Guide to PTS

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2018, 05:50 PM
evilfij
SJW, a Carin' kinda guy
Rennlist Member

Received 621 Likes on 433 Posts

Originally Posted by evilfij

I bought a spray out of Auratium green (210 on PTS list, 5712 original Porsche code) from Willhoit. I want to thank Eduardo master of all PTS for mentioning to me that John Willhoit sells spray outs of 356 colors so anyone considering one for $35 you get a sprayed out card which was matched to an original 356. Anyway, I am a terrible photographer, but here is a picture and I will try to get one in sunlight tomorrow. I will also hold it up next to my car when it arrives to see how close it is.
Not all that close.

Old 12-31-2018, 03:18 PM
soulsea
Rennlist Member

Received 1,707 Likes on 508 Posts

Hey guys, speaking of Auratium I have a question because I'm doing a car project and I'm trying to pick a color.

Can someone explain to me why colors look different on older cars than they do in newer cars? (not talking about old pictures)

I really like the way Auratium looks on this recently painted 356 but obviously it looks so much different on a new 911, and it's not just the lighting:

Old 12-31-2018, 03:31 PM
evilfij
SJW, a Carin' kinda guy
Rennlist Member

I think it is the camera filters on the first car or it was just painted a color which is not really Auratium. If you look up in this thread, I ordered a panel from Willhoit matched to an original Auratium car and it is no where near as light as the one in the video. It’s not a perfect match to the new paint on my car, but the shade is close, the sample is just a bit more blue. Between the two I actually like the new Auratium. I do have a couple shots of my car where it looks much lighter closer to the first video (maybe not quite that light) which just goes to show camera/monitor/lighting can make a lot of colors look very different.
Old 12-31-2018, 03:35 PM
evilfij
SJW, a Carin' kinda guy
Rennlist Member