Sponsored by:

GT3 991 tyres

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2013, 05:11 AM
markow
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GT3 991 tyres

since this is my first posting, i'd like lo introduce myself to the forum. my name is peter and i am one of those porsche fans, who have ordered a GT3 991 precisely because it became somewhat more soft-core daily drivable PDK etc.....sorry guys, but this is the way it is, i am probably in AP's new target group---)))
i have high respect for people who track their cars but i am just not one of them (maybe i shall try when the GT3 gets in). the reason i ordered the GT3 and not a C2S or C4S is very simple: the 9K revving engine, fast PDK, noise...., just the total experience.
here is a question: i have no experience with semi slicks and i'd prefer to change over from the original Dunlop Maxx Race to the regular Carrera 4S HP tyres, simply because of their better aquaplaning behaviour. they have precisely the same dimensions as the GT3 911 original tyres. also,the Carrera 4S PZeros have the Porsche N rating, but do i have to
worry about other issues? drivability of the GT3 with regular HP tyros? warranty?
suspension issues?
thanks for helping a soft-core GT3 fan,
peter
Old 04-29-2013, 08:09 AM
Manifold
Rennlist Member

Location: Mid-Atlantic (on land, not in the middle of the ocean)
Received 3,785 Likes on 2,193 Posts

^ If you're not going to track it, you can use any tire appropriate for your climate. But if you're going to get a 991 GT3, I'd urge you to track it at least once to see what that's all about.
Old 04-29-2013, 12:12 PM
stevecolletti
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hi Markow,

I don't know anyone who has experience with the Dunlop Maxx Race tires, yet.