Notices
991 GT3, GT3RS, GT2RS and 911R 2012-2019
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What are the must check in pre-purchase 991.1 RS?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2019, 07:52 AM
daedton
Rennlist Member

Received 24 Likes on 12 Posts
Default What are the must check in pre-purchase 991.1 RS?

Hi all. Now that the 991.1 RS has been out for awhile, can you enlighten me on the must checks in pre-purchase inspection. I have a lot of experience in the pre 991.1 RS generation, but not as much in the new PDK era RS's.
Would love any advice you can give. Going to look at one this weekend.
Old 01-24-2019, 09:09 AM
A/S
Burning Brakes

Received 283 Likes on 130 Posts

1) Look for wear on the wires and cables inside the rear wheel well, if signs of wear, have those parts replaced.

2) Look for wear on the front and rear fender well covers, I had holes from tires rubbing on them (the stock tires).

3) Look for cracks on the center muffler, the RS Ti muffler is more prone to cracking than the Steel center in the GT3, but both crack with track use.

4) Because it is an automatic, I don't know why people insist on a OverRev report from the ECU, this is a situation that can happen in 3-pedal cars (money shifts and the likes), but PDK cannot over rev the engine. Read the forum for the different types, because getting to the Rev limiter (and all these automatic GT cars do) get registered as a type of over rev.

5) These cars eat spark plugs, so unless you have a recent bill with a fresh set of plugs, have them replaced on purchase, it is cheap and keeps the car healthy.

6) The rear deck lid rubs with the tail lights, due to the downforce this car produces, check for damage on the upper part of the tail lights and the bottom paint of the deck lid.

7) Inside the battery tray compartment, check that you have the air pump and the center lock socket.