Sponsored by:

Double clutch or Single clutch?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2018, 07:52 PM
Ascend
Three Wheelin'

Received 315 Likes on 179 Posts
Default Double clutch or Single clutch?

I've always single clutched... in my very limited MT car driving. (Haven't driven one for 7 years and finally did today. Ended up stalling engine few times and pissing off guys in the back)

My friend is telling me double clutch is better for synchro.

I am really a noob when it comes to transmission and all this stuff.

So, for GT3 MT with rev matching, is double clutching necessary?

And can you misshift and over-rev? Or will the magical rev matching prevent that?
Old 07-08-2018, 07:56 PM
GrantG
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 4,721 Likes on 2,691 Posts

Double clutching is not necessary with the modern synchros in the new GT3. However, I do it occasionally when going into first gear when rolling more than 5mph or so just to be extra kind. I'm used to doing it that way from many years of driving old 911's with 915 gearbox.

Yes, you can over-rev if you select the wrong gear when traveling faster than redline speed in that gear (i.e. choosing 2nd instead of 4th when going over 82 mph)...
Old 07-08-2018, 07:58 PM
reidry
Three Wheelin'

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by Ascend
I've always single clutched... in my very limited MT car driving. (Haven't driven one for 7 years and finally did today. Ended up stalling engine few times and pissing off guys in the back)

My friend is telling me double clutch is better for synchro.

I am really a noob when it comes to transmission and all this stuff.

So, for GT3 MT with rev matching, is double clutching necessary?

And can you misshift and over-rev? Or will the magical rev matching prevent that?
straight from wiki...