Sponsored by:

Trackday stuff Helmet and Hans suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2018, 08:57 PM
H82BL8
Pro

Received 19 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Trackday stuff Helmet and Hans suggestions

I'm interested in doing some track days. I'm a rookie. I have completed Porsche masters training and Ford school in Salt lake.
I am looking into the gear/helmet that I need and tips required.

I am needing some advise of what I NEED to have done to the car and safety gear required.
Please help.
Old 02-21-2018, 09:26 PM
HEAT'N'COOL
Rennlist Member

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

It all depends on your budget. If you are just getting into it i would start with helmet and gloves, do a couple days an see how much you love it. A bell helmet is a solid start https://www.bellracing.com/Shop/Category/road-racing you can get one that starts around $399 and go up from there (thats what i did) an you won't be too deep into it if it isn't your thing. Once I found I love the sport i got, cage, hans, shoes, belts... and holy crap it is a deep hole.. One thing i would recommend is making sure your cars front clip is protected with a wrap.. as for as what you NEED to do to there car; make sure you have your car tech inspected. A good shop in your area can do this, even your your Porsche dealer can do it.

You will need a few things your first day (helmet, gloves, track map, water, snacks, a chair, clear mind, good attitude, numbers for your car, a portable tire pump) hope that helps. ENJOY
Old 02-21-2018, 09:39 PM
Palting
Rennlist Member

Received 238 Likes on 153 Posts

Just starting out, you'll be in the novice group. All you need is a helmet, a good ear and a willingness to listen to your instructor. The car at this level just needs to be roadworthy, nothing else. As heat'n'cool said, if you decide this is something you want to really get into, there's that deep hole with the slippery slope waiting you .