Sponsored by:

Sharkwerks Bypass Exhaust install DIY on 991.2 GT3

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2018, 09:08 PM
Mc21
Rennlist Member

Received 23 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Sharkwerks Bypass Exhaust install DIY on 991.2 GT3

Finally got a chance to install the Sharkwerks bypass yesterday and though I would do a quick write-up on the install process since I took a bunch of photos. This is my first time posting a DIY so bear with me.
Overall the install was straight forward (as expected) with some small hand tools and it took me about 2.5 hours - I took my time and took photos in between each steps.

I purchased the Sharkwerks bypass along with the 100mm exhaust tips in raw metal. Decision on the Sharkwerks was simple, I installed their bypass on my 997.1 GT3 and I was really happy with the product. Here is a photo of the 100mm tips installed on the OEM exhaust.

The first step is to remove the exhaust tip - there are total of 3 13mm nuts. I used 13mm socket and extension to remove the center nut.

Next step was popping the engine lid and removing the 2 T25 bolts on each taillights. Also, remove the 4 T25 bolts attached to the rear bumper.

Slide the taillights out.

Unplug the electrical plugs on the taillights.

Unplug the license plate lights on the driver side.

Pop out the license plate light electrical wire from the mount on the driver side.

Unplug the rearview camera plugs from the passenger side.

There were 3 T25 bolts to be removed behind the rear wheel arch on the bumper, and then 6 T25 bolts at the bottom of the bumper. And there are 2 more T30 bolts at the taillight tip location. Gently pull each side of the rear bumper from the car and you can now slide the bumper out.

Remove 2 T25 bolts on each side of the heat shield first, then 3 11mm bolts on each side of the rear crash structure. Remove the crash structure to expose the rear exhaust.

Remove the M6 sized hex bolts on the exhaust clamps, and remove the clamps from the exhaust.