Notices

Tapping into THE 981 CAN for Alexa voice control

 
Old 12-16-2016, 04:22 AM
  #1  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Arrow Tapping into THE 981 CAN for Alexa voice control

Porsche gurus -

Im in the process of hooking up an amazon echo to my cayman to control things like the windows, volume, heated seats, etc. I'm a software engineer with a good understanding of the CAN system but not of the 981. What's the best place to splice into CAN+/-? Ideally in the front or the back is fine - the data once processed will be transmitted over Bluetooth to an iPad.
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-16-2016, 10:11 AM
  #2  
Harvey in FL
User
 
Harvey in FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FL
Posts: 205
Default

very easy......

Go to this site and scroll down to: "Porsche 981 GT4 AiM Solo DL CAN wiring guide"

http://www.peterkrause.net/Krause_%2..._and_Data.html

Harvey

PCA, Chin & PBOC HPDE Instructor
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2015 981CS - PDK, GT Silver/Black
2008 997.1 C2 - 6 Speed, Meteor Grey/Sand Beige (gone)
2000 986S - 6 Speed, Arctic Silver (gone, but not forgotten)
Harvey in FL is offline  
Old 12-16-2016, 04:18 PM
  #3  
Noah Fect
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Noah Fect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,546
Default

Originally Posted by Ekimia View Post
Porsche gurus -

Im in the process of hooking up an amazon echo to my cayman to control things like the windows, volume, heated seats, etc. I'm a software engineer with a good understanding of the CAN system but not of the 981. What's the best place to splice into CAN+/-? Ideally in the front or the back is fine - the data once processed will be transmitted over Bluetooth to an iPad.
If you figure out what CAN segment has the parking brake control on it, I'd be interesting in hacking that one myself.
Noah Fect is online now  
Old 12-18-2016, 05:31 PM
  #4  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks guys, does that location have all CAN traffic though? I actually did those steps but didn't have any luck. Curious if it was my fault or there just isnt a lot of CAN traffic there
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-18-2016, 05:32 PM
  #5  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Also ill be sure to share all this when im done!
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-18-2016, 08:56 PM
  #6  
Noah Fect
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Noah Fect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,546
Default

Be sure to check out the diagram on page 68 of the service information booklet. Lots of different buses. All of them ultimately have to find their way to the general area of the OBD2 port so that the PIWIS test set can be connected, but it's far from clear how to access any given bus segment.
Noah Fect is online now  
Old 12-19-2016, 12:38 AM
  #7  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Hey @noah, mind adding the service manual here? Planet9 has a bug and won't let me create a new account
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 01:08 AM
  #8  
Noah Fect
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Noah Fect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,546
Default

Noah Fect is online now  
Old 12-19-2016, 03:18 AM
  #9  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default

that was super useful, thanks Noah! What I learned: The wires i tapped int for CAN+/- are just for diagnostics, which isn't connected to the other CAN systems.

Next step: Finding where to tap into at least the comfort CAN bus. Once that's found i can get rolling.
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 03:19 AM
  #10  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default

it looks like if i can tap into the Gateway Control Unit ill get access to the whole thing - anyone have a schematic of that? Or know where its located?
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-20-2016, 12:02 AM
  #11  
Ekimia
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default

One place for sure that will have access to the comfort CAN is the headunit, anyone have instructions for how to pop that out?
Ekimia is offline  
Old 12-20-2016, 04:13 PM
  #12  
Noah Fect
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Noah Fect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,546
Default

Not much is publicly known about any of this stuff, unfortunately. Access to your own car's wiring diagrams costs $$$ in the brave new world of DRM and "No user-serviceable parts inside."
Noah Fect is online now  
Old 12-22-2016, 12:53 PM
  #13  
wkearney99
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,289
Default

Originally Posted by Ekimia View Post
Porsche gurus -

Im in the process of hooking up an amazon echo to my cayman to control things like the windows, volume, heated seats, etc. I'm a software engineer with a good understanding of the CAN system but not of the 981. What's the best place to splice into CAN+/-? Ideally in the front or the back is fine - the data once processed will be transmitted over Bluetooth to an iPad.
So I can drive up next to you and shout "Alexa, open the trunk"

Personally I'd rather capture use of the voice button the turn signal stalk. Use that to trigger the input. Like the button on an Amazon Tap. It'd be much more secure and less likely to be abused. Free voice recog is great when you're not near the device. But when driving you're already close enough to be able to use the stalk button to trigger inputs.

More importantly have you figured out if it's possible to tie the Amazon device into the PCM via Bluetooth and have it be able to interrupt other audio sources? I've tried and it won't pair at all.
wkearney99 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tapping into THE 981 CAN for Alexa voice control


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: