Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   981 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/981-forum-264/)
-   -   Tapping into THE 981 CAN for Alexa voice control (https://rennlist.com/forums/981-forum/967056-tapping-into-the-981-can-for-alexa-voice-control.html)

Ekimia 12-16-2016 04:22 AM

Tapping into THE 981 CAN for Alexa voice control

Porsche gurus -

Im in the process of hooking up an amazon echo to my cayman to control things like the windows, volume, heated seats, etc. I'm a software engineer with a good understanding of the CAN system but not of the 981. What's the best place to splice into CAN+/-? Ideally in the front or the back is fine - the data once processed will be transmitted over Bluetooth to an iPad.

Harvey in FL 12-16-2016 10:11 AM

very easy......

Go to this site and scroll down to: "Porsche 981 GT4 AiM Solo DL CAN wiring guide"

http://www.peterkrause.net/Krause_%2..._and_Data.html

Harvey

PCA, Chin & PBOC HPDE Instructor
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2015 981CS - PDK, GT Silver/Black
2008 997.1 C2 - 6 Speed, Meteor Grey/Sand Beige (gone)
2000 986S - 6 Speed, Arctic Silver (gone, but not forgotten)

Noah Fect 12-16-2016 04:18 PM

Originally Posted by Ekimia (Post 13816357)
Porsche gurus -

Im in the process of hooking up an amazon echo to my cayman to control things like the windows, volume, heated seats, etc. I'm a software engineer with a good understanding of the CAN system but not of the 981. What's the best place to splice into CAN+/-? Ideally in the front or the back is fine - the data once processed will be transmitted over Bluetooth to an iPad.

If you figure out what CAN segment has the parking brake control on it, I'd be interesting in hacking that one myself.

Ekimia 12-18-2016 05:31 PM