Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

garage find on a 987, immaculate but .....

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2023, 12:20 PM
32fFront38Back
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question garage find on a 987, immaculate but .....

Trying to understand how much risk is in a car with 33400 miles but hasnt been driven in over a year & could be a few years wo any driving (odd but true). I would be 6th owner. Current owner for 12 years. No history of damage. Starts right up and sounds solid wo any smoke. TPC inactive code & does need new tires. Am I a fool to even consider buying this potential gem? Its just been sitting ... for who knows how long. Seller believes it worth 30% more than fair condition on KBB. Any thoughts would be SUPER helpful as Im not a mechanic BUT talented at sourcing product.

My one thought is I spend just about $950 flying across country to see it and drive it a few hours away to dealer for an 'inspection' + miss 3 days of work:

The yellow 718 ... a gem or someone elses problem?

My newest fleet addition ... 2006 tan interior.
Old 03-27-2023, 12:39 PM
cyclingismylife
Rennlist Member

Received 199 Likes on 53 Posts

That's not a 718, it's a 987 Cayman.
Old 03-27-2023, 12:41 PM
sanderabernathy
Rennlist Member

Received 801 Likes on 360 Posts

That's not a 718. It's a 987 Cayman. You'd have better luck in the 987 forum.

There are plenty with far fewer miles than that. Whether it's been driven in the last 12 years or not, seals, hoses, belts will have deteriorated. While I don't think it would be necessary to replace them all, some will certainly need replacement. Like any used car, an inspection will probably yield a list of things to address. After you address those things, you'll probably find more that needs to be addressed.