Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you reset the service light?

Old 07-06-2012, 05:57 PM
Ajjra
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default How do you reset the service light?

How do you reset the Service now message?
Old 07-06-2012, 06:23 PM
orthojoe
Nordschleife Master

Received 191 Likes on 94 Posts

I use durametric cable. Or have the dealer do it
Old 07-06-2012, 06:26 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by Ajjra
How do you reset the Service now message?
Unless you have access to say a Durametric which may do this -- I have no direct experience -- you'll have to visit either a well equipped indy shop with the latest PIWIS2 or a dealer with said computer to do this for you.

I can tell you in some cases -- maybe the majority of cases -- the dealer will want to charge you. I have been told this is to have a record the service light was extinguished *without* the full/proper/called for service being done.

Also, one of my dealer contacts tells me the dealer pays $600/month for this PIWIS2 computer system, that is $600 for each computer in the shop and some shops have more than one (the one I was in the other day has 2), and at times during the year the dealer has to cough up money for upgrades and training and such. So the dealers are forced to charge for PIWIS2 diagnostic computer time because it costs them to have these systems in house.

Also, it takes a tech time to connect the system, call up its menu system and get the process running. My info the diagnostics computer is not set up (does not allow) a simple service light clear but must perform a scan of the car's systems. This takes time, though of course the tech doesn't have to stand at the computer while this is going on.

Anyhow, before the dealer could afford to be generous with this time but no longer.