Notices
Spyder/Cayman R Discussions about the 987 Spyder/Cayman R (2011-2012)

Spyder allocations are getting scarce...would you pull the trigger for 3% off?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2011, 06:36 PM
Dave I
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Spyder allocations are getting scarce...would you pull the trigger for 3% off?

Have been looking for a Spyder allocation for a few months and have a line on one. At this point in the Spyder production, I don't think there are many left, so beggars can't be choosers.

Dealership is offering 3%...I've never worked with them before so maybe it would be higher if I were a repeat customer. I know they can go lower if they really want to as I had two separate instances where I had and subsequently let go allocations for 5% and 6% off, but that was back in March.

Have also been looking in the used market for months and there is nothing that is remotely close to my specs, and it's extremely unlikely I'll ever see a car with the exact options that I want on the used market or unsold dealer inventory.

So I guess the choices at this point are pay a little more for the exact car via factory order or find something else and compromise on color and options.
Old 06-01-2011, 06:56 PM
ClintonM3
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

With you being in CA, I think 3% is reasonable. I think you tend to see higher discounts here in the northeast, where dealer network is geographically closer and less demand for the spyder. But do ask for 5 or 6%. You don't get if you don't ask. But don't lowball or play games. Dealers want to see commitment. Is a sports car, don't spend too much time fuzzing over it, pull the trigger and enjoy.
Old 06-01-2011, 07:44 PM
allegretto
Nordschleife Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If 5% is your number, may I suggest you return to the dealer with your checkbook, ask for the GM and don't kick tires.

"I'm here to take that allocation now if we can agree" seems to work for me...