Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   987 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/987-forum-125/)
-   -   GT3 LCAs or adjustable camber plates for -camber? (https://rennlist.com/forums/987-forum/1151523-gt3-lcas-or-adjustable-camber-plates-for-camber.html)

johnwb 07-09-2019 07:51 PM

GT3 LCAs or adjustable camber plates for -camber?

I'm new to the Cayman (981S) platform for DE use.
I'd like to get to -2 or -2.5 camber up front.
What's the best way to go on these cars?
Thanks.

Pep!RRRR 07-10-2019 08:33 AM

You can get the camber you want with camber plates. MUCH cheaper option than LCAs. I have Tarett plates on my 981 Cayman giving 2.3 degrees negative camber all around. Excellent for track use (my main use.)

ALE 07-10-2019 11:28 AM

Depending on your setup, you may also need caster adjustment. If that's the case, the Tarett cup arms are a solid choice. Be sure to check with your tech.

993Guy 07-14-2019 12:30 PM

Originally Posted by Pep!RRRR (Post 15963263)
You can get the camber you want with camber plates. MUCH cheaper option than LCAs. I have Tarett plates on my 981 Cayman giving 2.3 degrees negative camber all around. Excellent for track use (my main use.)

Just installed the Tarett plates as well. Front is maxed out at -2.3. If your good with that, plates are fine.

f4 plt 07-15-2019 05:25 AM

Both will allow you to increase your negative camber however they do it in different ways. The simple answer. Camber plates pull the top of the strut in and thus increase camber while lower control arms essentially push the lower portion of the strut out not only increasing your negative camber but slightly widening your track. I went with GT3 lower control arms on mat 987 Spyder and am very satisfied with the result

85Gold 07-15-2019 10:41 AM

Originally Posted by f4 plt (Post 15973776)