Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Possible future 981 Cayman owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 05:05 PM
Cayman6spd
Advanced

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Possible future 981 Cayman owner

Greetings...

I currently drive a 2016 BMW M4. I'm getting bored of the vehicle and want to try something different. I've owned the M4 for about 3 years now.

I have been doing extensive research for the past 2 months on Porsche's and the one that fits my needs would be a 981 Cayman with a 6-speed manual.

I am going to a local dealership to test drive a 2016 CPO Porsche Cayman with a 6-speed. Since it's CPOed, it does give me a sigh of relief and looking at the CarFax, seems like the previous owner took care of it.

Is there anything in particular that I need to look out for when shopping for a pre-owned Porsche?

Thank you all and any advice is always welcome.

Hopefully I will be joining the Porsche family soon.

Cheers.

-Cayman6spd
Old 05-13-2019, 05:17 PM
PorscheAddict
Rennlist Member

Received 122 Likes on 75 Posts

That new of one will likely not have any "tells" but you can ask for a DME printoff showing whether it's ever been overrevved (and the degree, if so). If you care, cars that have seen track time very quickly develop small cracks coming from the cross drilled holes so you can check that too. Not a lot of risk with a '16 CPO, though.

One thing you didn't ask about but that I'll mention is that you should do your homework on what options enthusiasts like. These cars have dozens of options, maybe hundreds counting color combos, interiors, etc., so it behooves you to pay attention to that stuff on the front end since retrofitting is usually either impossible or cost prohibitive. I wish I looked around enough to get sports plus seats, for example.