Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New 981 Cayman owner- track questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2019, 11:44 AM
Four Ring Circus
Racer

Received 92 Likes on 57 Posts
Default New 981 Cayman owner- track questions

Hi all, after lurking in the 981 and 997 forums for a couple years, I finally decided on the 981 and pulled the trigger on a car listed here in the marketplace. I have about 6 miles behind the wheel so far, as I just got title and tags after several weeks of waiting. I am jumping right in with this, as I am already registered for an Audi club event this weekend at Lime Rock.
I am brand new to this car, and a mid engine car (I used to track my Audi S6- about as different from a Cayman as you can be). I want to hear from other owners with any advice for this car. The car also has many track mods that the previous owner installed: limited slip diff, TPC springs/sways, camber plate. So here goes:
what tire pressures do you recommend? Car is on 20 inch summer Pirellis
what kind of movement can I expect with the sport plus setting? Will it give me some slide/slippage before traction control kicks in? I used to run my Audi with all the nannies on, as it was the family car (not that I would want to crunch ANY car).
The seller gave me some Pagid pads that he used for the track- I don’t have the knowledge or space to change pads around. Are the factory pads up to the task? I can have my shop put them on when I do tech inspection but I don’t want to drive the car on the street with very noisy pads. I certainly tore through pads, rotors, and tires on my S6 but obviously the Cayman is so much lighter.

Thank you you to everyone on here for the info I picked up over the last two years.
Pictures to come!
Old 05-07-2019, 12:23 PM
Four Ring Circus
Racer