Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jackstand points

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2019, 09:51 PM
Thacker
Instructor

Received 71 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Jackstand points

I want to jack up my ‘14 981CS in order to inspect and clean the wheels and properly torque the lug screws. I have jack pads for the car, but the question that comes to mind is that when the car is lifted via the lift points, where do I place jackstands?
Old 04-26-2019, 10:20 PM
Jim137a
Burning Brakes

Received 127 Likes on 90 Posts

Here’s a few options for you.

http://liftbars.com/

http://www.jackpointjackstands.com/how-it-works.html

Old 04-27-2019, 12:53 AM
daylorb
Rennlist Member

Received 81 Likes on 63 Posts

I'm no expert on this, but don't you want to torque them on the ground? I always thought it was tighten in air, torque on ground.

And I love the liftbars - that's how I do it.
Old 04-27-2019, 02:07 PM
venom51
Burning Brakes

Received 231 Likes on 136 Posts

You want to torque on the ground. Drive the car a short distance and torque again.
Old 04-27-2019, 03:39 PM
Tidybuoy
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Porsche really didn't accommodate jack + jack stand and this makes it difficult to jack the car and then have a place for the stands. I now use the QuickJack Lift but that is not an option for everyone.

Fabspeed makes a "JackPoint" that bolts to the pan under the engine. You could also place a block of wood there and then jack the car and place the jack stands under the jack points; this only deals with the rear of the car though. Once the rear is on stands, you can jack one side of the front and the opposite wide will also raise off the ground enough to get a jack stand under one side of the front. I usually use the jack as the 4th stand (although that is not the preferred and most safe method). With the car on 3 stands, the 4th side will not drop to the ground, even without anything supporting it.