Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Some general Boxster/Cayman questions (987)

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2018, 12:15 PM
mgp2675
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some general Boxster/Cayman questions (987)

Hi everyone,

Let me say first that if I'm posting this in the wrong section or if people have asked these questions before, I apologize. This is my first time on this forum and from what I saw, this is the area to discuss the 987 in general. I searched for the information I'm looking for, but it came up with lots of results for different cars and model years, and this question is specific to the 2005-2012 model years. I've been a member of many forums and I also hate seeing the same question asked a million times, so I understand.

I owned a Honda S2000 over ten years ago and have wanted another roadster ever since. I am close to being able to buy a Sunday car, so I'm starting to look around more now. I did a search the other day and there were a decent amount of Boxsters and even some Boxster S models that fit my budget. I'd mainly be looking at the 2005-2007 model years as I can't afford the newer ones, and I'd want a manual transmission.

It seems like these cars have depreciated a fair amount, at least compared to the S2000. This isn't a huge concern for me because I'm not buying a car to flip it, but I am concerned with the cost of ownership overall. I've never owned a German car, but I have heard horror stories. I'd be looking for a car with around 50,000 miles so it wouldn't be incredibly high, but the car would likely be over 10 years old. So while I'm not necessarily expecting this car to be as reliable as a Honda, are these cars generally reliable?