Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thoughts on a car I'm pondering

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2018, 04:40 PM
werneral
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thoughts on a car I'm pondering

Hi All,

Been looking this Cayman S over and since I'm by no means an expert, I wonder if anybody here has thoughts.

The car strikes me as a low mileage, lightly optioned example, but I'm not knowledgeable enough to interpret the nuances.

I'm looking for an S for the street, with maybe a bit of track use, but it's not to be track oriented by any means.

PSE isn't a concern, but lack of PASM perhaps is?

Asking price has been lowered to $67,981.00. Perhaps a bit rich even for a low miles?

I'm not sure what the Convenience Package adds nor am I sure about the Infotainment Package, other than that the Bose was probably the mid-tier stereo option.

Here are the options per the dealer:

Base - Cayman S
250 - Porsche Doppelkupplung (PDK)
427 - 20" Carrera Classic Wheels
446 - Wheel Center Caps With Colored Porsche Crest
583 - Smoking Package
640 - Sport Chrono Package I.c.w. PCM
658 - Power Steering Plus
840 - SportDesign Steering Wheel
AG - Standard Interior In Black
P9A - Convenience Package
P9G - Infotainment Package With BOSE? Surround Sound System
U2 - GT Silver Metallic
XSC - Porsche Crest On Headrests

And here is a link to the ad:

https://www.porschebeaverton.com/inv...tallic+1637395

Any thoughts appreciated, understanding of course that we all have different opinions regarding what is important and what is not.

Thanks in advance,

Al
Old 02-05-2018, 05:50 PM
Drew_K
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I’ve heard that PASM is desired with 20” wheels to smooth out the ride. You may want to do some searching on that.

The SportDesign wheel is nice because it gives you actual paddles to shift, rather than the (IMO) stupid thumb buttons.