"check raised brake light" - but it works? - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
987 - 981 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"check raised brake light" - but it works?

Old 12-11-2017, 01:26 PM
  #1  
Hacked 987
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Hacked 987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 8,041
Default "check raised brake light" - but it works?

Alright - did a search, most all of the results actually are from folks that have a non-op CHMSL.

My 987 Cayman was sold to me with a fiberglass rear hatch, so I've always had this error message (as the hatch did not have the CHMSL). I'm trying to sell the hatch, and I scored a stock hatch for cheap while I decide what to do with the rest of the car. I expected the stock hatch to clear this error message (it would be nice to be able to sell the car error-message-free) - but no dice. The CHMSL confirmed works... but I can't seem to clear the code for it with the DuraMetric, it comes right back and the dash beeps with the error every time I flip the key on.

Any tips or things to look for? Added to the complication - my car is a 2006 shell, but was converted (completely... allegedly) to 2010 spec (wiring harness, modules, motor, etc.) From what I can tell from the PET the CHMSL is the same P/N across all years... so that *shouldn't* matter.

Any ideas?
Hacked 987 is offline  
Old 12-11-2017, 01:31 PM
  #2  
extanker
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,184
Default

any chance the bulb is the wrong wattage other than oem
extanker is offline  
Old 12-11-2017, 01:35 PM
  #3  
Hacked 987
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Hacked 987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 8,041
Default

Originally Posted by extanker View Post
any chance the bulb is the wrong wattage other than oem
Well I got the hatch, complete, from a salvage yard. So I suppose there's always a *chance* someone, somehow, retrofitted something? But it sure doesn't look like it's ever been disassembled.

Anybody know what the official expected wattage/resistance is? I can disconnect it, wire up a test circuit to fake things, and see if that clears the error. Should at least help me narrow it down.
Hacked 987 is offline  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: "check raised brake light" - but it works?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: