Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Outer CV Boot Damage. Replace Boot or Shaft?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2017, 12:48 AM
MMMMalex
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Outer CV Boot Damage. Replace Boot or Shaft?

Installed coilovers on my 987.2 a few weeks ago and omw home, the coilover bracket holding my endlink snapped causing the shock to slam onto my axle. As a result, the outer CV boot is pretty much non existent.

Can I get away with replacing just the boot, or does it look like there may have been damage to the joint itself? I feel kinda silly asking because it looks pretty bad down there, but at the same time I'm not too experienced with axles and would prefer to not have to take out the shaft if it looks like the joint is fine. OR, do you have to take out the shaft to replace the boot as well? If I have to take out the shaft in either scenario, then I'm probably going to just buy a new shaft and save myself the trouble of disassembly and re-greasing. Truly don't want to take out the shaft if I don't have to...

Name:  RowZTje.jpg
Views: 37
Size:  46.2 KB

Name:  AiEvjOI.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  88.6 KB

Name:  3q8n2Vi.jpg
Views: 36
Size:  73.5 KB
Old 12-15-2017, 08:00 AM
terbiumactivated
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

RE shaft replacement: The question is do you have to or should you, IMO you should, in fact I would consider a pair if it was my ride. Sometimes parts like that behave like ball joints, perfecting one side stresses the elderly other side. That boot has been allowing grit and grime in for a while by the looks of it, no point in doing it twice just my two cents.
Old 12-15-2017, 03:02 PM
SpyderSenseOC
Rennlist Member

Received 1,319 Likes on 788 Posts

Originally Posted by MMMMalex