Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Euro plate frame question

Old 10-07-2017, 07:44 PM
storii
Rennlist Member

Received 105 Likes on 66 Posts
Smile Euro plate frame question

Hi. I'm new to Porsche and just picked up the new (to me) 2015 Boxster S last week. The car came with the front license plate frame and the dealer told me that there were holes in the bumper to secure it. I was told it would cost me $400 to plug the holes and paint. The problem is that the front plate is required in NJ and I may have to show it at the time of state inspection. If I have the holes plugged, I will have to come up with some other way to mount the front plate when necessary.

I think the Euro front plate looks much better on the car than the U.S. plate. After all, the car must have been designed with the Euro plate in mind. So, if the Euro plate frame uses the exact same holes as the U.S. plate frame, I can run the Euro plate and easily swap to the U.S. plate when it is necessary.

Does anyone know the following Euro plate frame uses the same holes for the U.S. plate frame?

https://www.suncoastparts.com/product/SKU981EUROPF.html

TIA
Old 10-07-2017, 08:43 PM
billwot
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by storii

Hi. I'm new to Porsche and just picked up the new (to me) 2015 Boxster S last week. The car came with the front license plate frame and the dealer told me that there were holes in the bumper to secure it. I was told it would cost me $400 to plug the holes and paint. The problem is that the front plate is required in NJ and I may have to show it at the time of state inspection. If I have the holes plugged, I will have to come up with some other way to mount the front plate when necessary.