Sponsored by:

Darned battery warning light

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2017, 12:43 AM
Air911
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Darned battery warning light

Hi all. It's my first time posting so I apologize in advance.

I have an 89 C4 with 69k that I just purchased 3 months ago. The battery was replaced about a year ago but I'm sure it sat in a dealer lot and had to be resurrected a few times after dying. I have checked all my switches in doors, glove compartment, bonnet, engine lids and they are functioning appropriately. About half the time I start the car the battery warning combination of lights comes on and goes off only when I hit 2k RPM as it should. I brought the battery to the local NTB and the 680 tested at 800 and is good. I measured the charge once and it was at 12.45 and then the next day at the same time it was at 12.1. The warning lights mean the battery was below 9.9 when cranking. I did the fuse check with my multimeter and no parasitic drain issues surfaced. I also used a multimeter and disconnected the ground and didn't get a reading on DC Current. I'm so confused. I even disconnected one of the wires on the positive cable and found that was for the stereo amp. Even with that disconnected the warning light popped on later that day. I would say the warning shows up about 40% of the time. I ordered a 1.5A battery tender but won't that just mask the issue? What do you think is going on? BTW thank you for letting me post to your community. I am excited to join as a member.
Old 06-21-2017, 07:57 AM
-nick
Three Wheelin'

Received 104 Likes on 80 Posts

Did you break continuity when you pulled the neg lead to test for parasitic drain? You need to keep the multimeter lead on the neg post while removing the car earth or else all is reset.

What is the voltage at idle and at 2k rpm?

Does your interior light always come on when you open the door?

Good luck!
Old 06-21-2017, 08:56 AM
Rocket Rob
IHI KING!
Rennlist Member