Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Timing chain guide issue !

Old 01-13-2016, 05:43 PM
Pjovan
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing chain guide issue !

Hi everyone, new Rennlist member here ! Im a passionate young mechanic who's always had a few projects to work on since the age of 14 and as time went on, I started getting more involved with the automotive field. I'm on a journey to non stop learning, with ears wide open and mind open as can be. Im in need of some help with with the timing chain guide on a 964 engine I'm currently finishing a refresh on an m64..nothing crazy. I have worked on previous 911s but this is the first 911 engine I got very technical with, any advice or pointers are greatly appreciated !

So the issue I'm having is my timing chain seems to be incorrect the way it sits in the guide. On the left bank the timing chain sits perfectly behind the timing chain guide's lip like its supposed to.

Then if you look at the right bank, you'll see the chain is sitting just on the outside towards the end of the timing chain guide. it may not seem too noticeable on the picture since the bracket wasn't fully torqued so it wasn't flush to surface. When I do torque it down and the timing chain guide is fully seated the chain ends up sitting out of the guide towards the end of it which doesn't look normal.

What could be causing this issue ?

UPDATE ***

I removed the timing chain guides and checked if the timing chain was sitting incorrect but turns out the chain sits perfect in its gear.