Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Choked and Stalled on First Gear. Help!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2015, 03:21 PM
vsouvann
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choked and Stalled on First Gear. Help!!!!

I have been working on my baby for two months now. I replaced all 12 plug plugs, two rotors and caps, new valve cover and chain cover gaskets and three belts. I went sweat and tears to get her running after a near catastrophic oil over filled that resulted in "hydro lock".
She is almost there mechanically. I took her to a gas station and filled her up, then we went on a short spirited drive.
Problem:
She choked up on the first gear. I had to rev it up to 4-5k rpm and slept ease off the clutch to get going. On second, third, fourth, and fifth gears, she ran beautifully.
BTW, I cleaned the Idle Control Valve and all of the intake parts before I put everything back.
What should I do for to solve this problem?
Old 12-22-2015, 03:36 PM
RallyeChris
Rennlist Member

Received 99 Likes on 62 Posts

Are you certain the plugs aren't fouled from the over-fill?
Old 12-22-2015, 06:35 PM
vsouvann
Instructor

I will check them as soon I get a chance. They are brand new plugs that I put in after the oil was ejected from the cylinders. I blew out white smoke after I started her up for the first time. If one or two of them fail, would it be really rough the entire run, not jus at the take off(first gear)?
Old 12-26-2015, 10:13 AM
dlpalumbo
Racer

I posted this in your other thread, but maybe you missed it. if you disconnected your battery during your maintenance, you need to do a fuel adaptation. It has been my experience that this makes a big difference in idle and low end torque.
Old 12-26-2015, 05:53 PM
vsouvann
Instructor