Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

BDC 964 C4 build and intro - wide body, airride & other madness.

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2014, 07:22 PM
bdc1
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BDC 964 C4 build and intro - wide body, airride & other madness.

I figured its about time to make an introduction for my 964 as its already back on the road after spending countless hours and graveyard shifts in my garage.

Firstly, I'm sure the project will divide opinions and I'm fine with that I'm building it for myself to enjoy, and while some choices might be quite unorthodox, I have tried not to compromise driveability nor quality when it comes to the parts or work. It was also important for me to do every bit of work myself.

As a short intro since I'm fairly new here, I'm based in northern Europe and my background is mostly in VAG cars. I've had about a dozen or so VW's and Audi's in the past, both projects and daily drivers, old and new. Just to mention, one of my favorites has probably been my S4 2.7 biT which I had around 06-08..

I've owned one Porsche prior to the 964, an '87 Carrera which I actually only had for half a year before a friend of mine wanted to buy it from me, and since I had originally tip toed between that and a 964, I went ahead and switched. The 3.2 was a great car with a very raw feel, which I liked, but at the same time I was longing for some of the modernized elements of the 964, particularly the suspension.

I sold the '87 last fall and right away started looking for a new one. In December I found a neat C4 from Germany which had recently been imported from the US. For those that are not familiar with the market here, there are quite a bit of imported (or re-imported, I guess) 911's from various corners of the world, particularly the US and Asia. I've seen several from even Dubai show up on mobile.de. My '87 was sold as new in Florida and the C4 came from California, both had been imported back to Germany.