Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Radio install advice

 
Old 02-03-2014, 10:21 PM
  #1  
greg1990964
User
Thread Starter
 
greg1990964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boston Burbs.
Posts: 1,319
Default Radio install advice

I removed my original Blaupunkt stuttgart, and wondering what I need to do to install my new Blaupunkt Toronto. Any ideas?
greg1990964 is offline  
Old 02-03-2014, 10:30 PM
  #2  
jpar
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 610
Default

If your original harness is uncut, then it should just plug in.
jpar is offline  
Old 02-03-2014, 10:38 PM
  #3  
greg1990964
User
Thread Starter
 
greg1990964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boston Burbs.
Posts: 1,319
Default

Really? I will take a few pics in a few. getting motivated to go out in garage.
greg1990964 is offline  
Old 02-03-2014, 10:40 PM
  #4  
jpar
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 610
Default

All the blaus I've seen use an early vw/audi/porsche style connector. I'm not sure if this is a standard euro connector or what.
jpar is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 02:13 AM
  #5  
greg1990964
User
Thread Starter
 
greg1990964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boston Burbs.
Posts: 1,319
Default

Just went out in my house pants to take a few pics. Wanted to post this tonight in hopes that I will wake up to some advice. Here are pics of new radio and old radio, and a pic on new Blaupunkt Toronto with the plugs that came with it plugged in. Also what is in the dash for connections/wires. It appears I may just have to do some color coded splicing unless there is a adapter online somewhere. So what do you electronics experts think I should I do?

So sick of pics flipping when I post. Annoying.
Attached Images      
greg1990964 is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 06:35 AM
  #6  
jpar
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 610
Default

Sorry, my car came with the harness already cut, thanks to some genius. I guess the early p cars have a different plug. You need a harness adapter if you don't want to cut your harness.
I found this one, but this will only do the power, you still need an adapter to the factory amp plug.

http:// http://www.crutchfield.com/S...e-Harness.html
jpar is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 06:53 AM
  #7  
newsboy
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
newsboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 770
Default

Even if the harness had not been cut, pretty sure the old plug would not fit your your new unit. There should be a wiring diagram that came with your unit that should show you how to wire/splice in your new plug.(use male-female connectors). Your new unit has a built on amp, so you can get rid of the pre-amp under the passenger seat. This is also a good place to splice your speaker wires.
newsboy is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 08:25 AM
  #8  
greg1990964
User
Thread Starter
 
greg1990964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boston Burbs.
Posts: 1,319
Default

Splice the wires under the seat as you remove the amp? And splice in dash and be done with it? Sounds easy.
greg1990964 is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 09:03 AM
  #9  
92C2Targa#119
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
92C2Targa#119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 408
Default

I did the Toronto 420 BT and a Rockford Fosgate RF Punch BRT4ch-MAN that fits perfectly under the seat where the Porsche Amp is.
Toronto 420 is much better than my previous Bahamas MP46 and I just love the Amplifier. I believe you can find wiring adapters for HU & Amp at Becker USA (NJ) or maybe still at Crutchfield. I used the HU adapter and rewired the amp.

Let me know if you need any help with both.
92C2Targa#119 is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 09:17 AM
  #10  
greg1990964
User
Thread Starter
 
greg1990964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boston Burbs.
Posts: 1,319
Default

92 targa do you remember what adapters you bought? I have no idea what to buy. Radios are not my thing. And did you need to get a new amp? Sounds like it is not needed.
greg1990964 is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 09:36 PM
  #11  
92C2Targa#119
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
92C2Targa#119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 408
Default

Originally Posted by greg1990964 View Post
92 targa do you remember what adapters you bought? I have no idea what to buy. Radios are not my thing. And did you need to get a new amp? Sounds like it is not needed.
Sorry can't remember the part numbers it was around 7 years ago that I purchased the adapters. I believe if you call Becker they will know what you are looking for. Yes I changed the Porsche amp to the Rockford Fosgate. The Porsche amp sounded distorted. The Toronto would be fine without an amp but I like good sound with the top off and the amp helps with that issue.
Cheers
92C2Targa#119 is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 09:54 PM
  #12  
Laker
Super User
 
Laker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 2,562
Default

Laker is offline  
Old 02-05-2014, 01:12 AM
  #13  
perelet
User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 131
Default

I'd go with what Vadint suggested - best sound ever!

perelet is offline  
Old 02-05-2014, 09:40 AM
  #14  
yellowducman
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
yellowducman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Concord NC
Posts: 714
Default

How well does the Toronto 420 BT lighting match the 964 at night?
yellowducman is offline  
Old 02-05-2014, 12:31 PM
  #15  
greg1990964
User
Thread Starter
 
greg1990964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boston Burbs.
Posts: 1,319
Default

Not sure yet. Been focused on this spoiler/ no soeedo lights issue
greg1990964 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio install advice


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: