Sponsored by:

964 accelerometer question

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2019, 09:40 AM
Andy964CH
6th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hello everyone!

I am new to rennlist and look for some ideas and hints concerning my 964/4 accelerator issue.

The braking issue described above was exactly occurring on my side as well. I had some "near hits" when my ABS system stopped working at full stop on the last couple of meters. You can notice it not only through the fact that the car is kind of slipping, but also that the braking pedal starts to push against you suddenly on that last couple of meters. Someone mentioned here in this thread that a warning lamp pops up or that it is possible to read-out accelerator issues with the BOSCH hammer. As far as I have observed, both is not the case. The accelerators will just corrode slowly and stop working and there is no way to detect it until it is too late... However, A. Streather mentioned in his 964 handbook, that there exists a special ABS test and diagnostic system capable to read non-plausible signals. But this tool is rare and I have never met one who has it.

So what I have done: I switched both units, but the braking problem remained. Then I put out both, cleaned all the dust and dirt attached to the magnet and reinstalled them.
Result: One still defect, the other one seems to be ok, as I can't reproduce the ABS braking problem.

So I have been in contact with John from JDSPorsche now and will order replacement soon. The only remaining question I have to you guys: Would you suggest to replace both to have consistent sensors and functionality or would it be sufficient to replace just one sensor?

Thanks in advance!

Andy
Old 02-03-2019, 10:01 AM
Uwe_911
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Andy