Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

91 C2 Cab top won't seal

 
Old 05-03-2011, 09:25 AM
  #1  
smongiovi
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Default 91 C2 Cab top won't seal

The top folds up and down with no problem, but when raising the top to close it, the top reaches the winshield top brace as usual but the motors that usually seal the top do not seem to engage. So the top just sits there with a 2 inch gap between the top and the winshield brace.

The top folds and falls into place just as it always has - with no unusual noises. I'm looking for possible causes, troubleshooting and of course the best way to fix it.
Any suggestions are appreciated!
Steve
smongiovi is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:11 PM
  #2  
Chimera
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fargo, North Dakota 58102
Posts: 308
Default

Do you unzip the rear window?

Doc
Chimera is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 12:52 PM
  #3  
smongiovi
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Default

yes the rear window is always unzipped when I operate the top, I learned that the hard way.
The top operates normally to the point where the leading edge is about to lock. Then it does not lock. The problem seems to be with the motors that lock the top to the windshield frame - they do not seem to work at all. Any ideas?
Steve
smongiovi is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 01:15 PM
  #4  
hans57
User
 
hans57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 166
Default

Originally Posted by smongiovi View Post
yes the rear window is always unzipped when I operate the top, I learned that the hard way.
The top operates normally to the point where the leading edge is about to lock. Then it does not lock. The problem seems to be with the motors that lock the top to the windshield frame - they do not seem to work at all. Any ideas?
Steve
Check the micro switches at the transmission, I think it is on the passenger side. One has to be closed, made contact with the arm to tell the front motors to operate.

Hope it is that simple...........
hans57 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 01:19 PM
  #5  
Kuchar
User
 
Kuchar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Warsaw Poland (Europe)
Posts: 239
Default

Check the microswitches on the convertible mechanism - transmition. Most likely, the upper one is in the wrong position and to early gives a signal that closure of the roof is complete. If this does not happen every time probably, the cause is loosen the three (or four) screws securing carbio or central screw on transmition.

Last edited by Kuchar; 01-01-2013 at 10:04 AM.
Kuchar is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 01:27 PM
  #6  
hawk911
Super User
 
hawk911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4,952
Default

and what does the window have to do with it?
hawk911 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:05 PM
  #7  
jimq
Burgled
Rennlist Member
 
jimq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Altamonte Springs, Fl/Gwynns Island, Va.
Posts: 22,333
Default

I have owned my car for 8 years and have never unzipped the window and never had a problem with it. I gotto say tho that my top stays down about 9 months of the year and maybe only raise it a few times a year to wash the car sometimes.
jimq is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:08 PM
  #8  
hawk911
Super User
 
hawk911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4,952
Default

I've never had a problem with the window being zipped or unzipped. It can crease a bit if you leave it zipped, but one afternoon with 95deg sunshine will fix that.
hawk911 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:37 PM
  #9  
smongiovi
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for the microswitch info, I'll look into that asap.

As for the rear window unzip question...Porsche recomends the rear window be unzipped to remove the tension on the roof as it closes. I've been told by more than a few cab owners that it's especially important in colder climates where the cold can cause the window to crack or spiderweb. I had to replace and repair the cab motors a few years ago when they broke from the mounts (@ $2k) and I was told that this is often caused by not unzipping the window and/or stopping and starting the roof mid cycle. So...it takes me 5 seconds to unzip it and now I ALWAYS unzip it here in NJ USA.
smongiovi is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 03:30 PM
  #10  
Chimera
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Chimera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fargo, North Dakota 58102
Posts: 308
Default

^^^ What smongiovi said.

Doc
Chimera is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 05:27 PM
  #11  
smongiovi
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Default 91 Cab top won't lock - details

well I opened the panels on the passenger side and the top microswitch does indeed get depressed upon closing. I checked the electrical connections and all look clean and secure. I've included 3 pics - the roof as it looks after going through the complete close cycle; the crank/transmission in the open; and then in the closed postion. In the closed postion, you can see the top microswitch is fully depressed as I believe it should be.
If you folks have and other ideas let me know otherwise it's off to the repair shop with it.
I do appreciate the help
Steve
Attached Images    
smongiovi is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 05:44 PM
  #12  
hawk911
Super User
 
hawk911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4,952
Default

Originally Posted by smongiovi View Post
Thanks for the microswitch info, I'll look into that asap.

As for the rear window unzip question...Porsche recomends the rear window be unzipped to remove the tension on the roof as it closes. I've been told by more than a few cab owners that it's especially important in colder climates where the cold can cause the window to crack or spiderweb. I had to replace and repair the cab motors a few years ago when they broke from the mounts (@ $2k) and I was told that this is often caused by not unzipping the window and/or stopping and starting the roof mid cycle. So...it takes me 5 seconds to unzip it and now I ALWAYS unzip it here in NJ USA.
one bad incident does not make a rule. I'd say the starting/stopping is more at issue than the window. Don't quote me if yours breaks.
hawk911 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 06:49 PM
  #13  
hans57
User
 
hans57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 166
Default

Originally Posted by smongiovi View Post
well I opened the panels on the passenger side and the top microswitch does indeed get depressed upon closing. I checked the electrical connections and all look clean and secure. I've included 3 pics - the roof as it looks after going through the complete close cycle; the crank/transmission in the open; and then in the closed postion. In the closed postion, you can see the top microswitch is fully depressed as I believe it should be.
If you folks have and other ideas let me know otherwise it's off to the repair shop with it.
I do appreciate the help
Steve
These switches can go bad. Another easy check would be to put a small jumper wire at the connector bypassing the switch, or closing acting as the switch. I cannot remember if there are switches at the top motors or not, but I do know there are wires that run through the roof. If one or more of those are broke........... ugh.
hans57 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 07:20 PM
  #14  
mark_in_maine
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Portland, ME USA
Posts: 31
Default

Hi All:

Okay I know this may sound a little strange but try disconnecting the battery, wait 30 seconds, reconnect the battery and then try cycling the top again. I have my rear top transmissions disengaged so that the top can manually operated but I still use the electrical top locks. Every third time of cycling the top the lock motors cease working. Its almost like the system is in some sort of fault condition from the previous operation. By cycling the battery it seems to clear the fault so the top lock motors work again. This won't solve your overall problem but it may help get the top locked down. Of course getting the top to open again may cause all sorts of other issues if the top lock motors don't cycle but the rear transmissions try to operate. I will be watching this thread with interest because I intend to get the top back back to fully automated form this summer.
mark_in_maine is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 07:26 PM
  #15  
Kuchar
User
 
Kuchar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Warsaw Poland (Europe)
Posts: 239
Default

The upper microswitch is definitely too close to the roof rack, just loosen the screw and slide the black plastic to the left, then close the roof.
You have precisely adjust the location of upper microswich (open and closed), because roof should stop just above the window, and then locking motors close the roof. When roof is closed upper microswitch schuold be touched by roof rack. Locking motors have microswitches too.
Kuchar is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: