Sponsored by:

First 964 Track Day Disaster

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 03:40 AM
sml
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default First 964 Track Day Disaster

I have owned the 964 for a few months now and hit the track for the first time today in the 964 (I have 4 or 5 track days under my belt from 15 yrs ago) ... Here's the background ...

Car
964 C4 manual coupe - everything stock except ..
g-pipe
rear is very low & front slightly lowered
17" cup wheels with 205 front and 255 rear .. new chinese cheapest tyres

Driver
limited experience as above.
I am no expert but I was pushing the car sufficiently to get understeer/oversteer on all corners and occasionally engage the ABS with braking

Result
My 964 today .. 1.38
My 924 about 15 yrs ago .. 1.34
997 GT3 .. 1.17
Nissan GTR .. 1.14
M3 stock .. 1.22
WRX stock .. 1.24
Well sorted club older 911s pre-964 .. in the low to high 1.20s

The car felt normal (ie decent stock performance) with the acceleration and braking and it felt like the biggest potential improvements would come from:
(a) myself the driver and,
(b) better suspension and tyres as the grip in the corners felt comparable to a volvo 240 (is this normal?)
(c) i noticed a huge & surprising braking benefit when i perfected a few heel & toe downchanges. does this seem correct? could there be a brake bias issue? the car hasn't been driven hard for years. the brakes felt terrible initially, but after 10 laps, they started to work well & more as expected.

For my 1.38 lap time, what are the potential lap time benefits for ...
1. a decent skilled driver?
2. low & hard suspension?
3. R type tyres?
4. other ideas to make my lap time less embarassing?
Old 10-10-2010, 03:56 AM
GeorgeK
Rennlist Member

Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts

First and foremost, geometry. A wrong stance ususally means poor behaviour. The car shold have a slight nose-down, or level attitude, and correct camber, toe, etc..

Then brakes (make that first in fact).