Potential 964 purchase...

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2010, 07:29 PM
featherpillow
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Potential 964 purchase...

Hello Everyone

I'm a newbie that's seriously looking at a 964 purchase. I finally convinced my wife that owning a 911 doesn't automatically mean I'm searching for a new girlfriend .

I settled on the 964 after doing some comparative driving between a few older 911's, a 964, and a Cayman. The 964 seemed to have the best response to me, and I like the suspension and handling best out of all the other cars I compared it to.

For me, the big question is this: just how reliable are these cars?. I've searched through archives of this forum and read just about everything I could find. The number that seemed to come up was somewhere around $2500 USD per year, but those threads were all 4-6 years old.

To me, $2500 per year isn't any better than what I spend on this stupid Audi D3 A8L I'm currently driving (it's like a huge problem-ridden tank with tiny peepholes for windows). It's not that I can't afford it, it's just that this figure doesn't exactly equate to reliable in my book.

So any thoughts or suggestions would be most welcome. If I'm being a whiny idiot, feel free to tell me so.

Thanks in advance
Old 04-05-2010, 08:21 PM
race911
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Extremely reliable. And that's pretty much for a 50K car you might find (and pay a premium), or a 200K car that's had full service and repairs through its life.