Distributor timing - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Distributor timing

 
Old 03-14-2010, 12:28 AM
  #1  
ian89C4
User
Thread Starter
 
ian89C4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Raeford, North Carolina
Posts: 510
Default Distributor timing

All,

Just finished timing the engine as I am putting it back together. Before putting the alternator back in just wondering if I need to time it as well.....or will it just fall in with the engine timing.

I did pull it out at TDC on cylinder #1 if that helps at all.

Thanks.

Last edited by ian89C4; 03-14-2010 at 11:19 AM.
ian89C4 is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 12:46 AM
  #2  
rattlsnak
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rattlsnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 825
Default

Not sure i understand you correctly, but the alternator has no 'timing' marks and it isnt 'timed' to the engine in any way.
rattlsnak is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 01:43 AM
  #3  
Indycam
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: not in HRM
Posts: 5,061
Default

Distributor ?
Indycam is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 11:18 AM
  #4  
ian89C4
User
Thread Starter
 
ian89C4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Raeford, North Carolina
Posts: 510
Default

Wow, I must have been really tired when I wrote that, I deeply apologize.

I did mean distributor.
ian89C4 is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 12:27 PM
  #5  
springer3
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
springer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,551
Default

Both rotors need to line up with the correct spark plugs, so yes, it it critical to put the distributor in on the correct tooth. The DME takes care of the fine timing.
springer3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 03:25 PM
  #6  
Indycam
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: not in HRM
Posts: 5,061
Default

When you put the distributor back in , the rotors need to be pointing at the tdc marks on the distributor housing when the motor is set at tdc . The distributor housing does not get turned to set the timing like in other / older cars .
Indycam is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 05:04 PM
  #7  
DWS964
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DWS964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,168
Default

Assuming that you did not turn the engine after removing the distributor while at TDC, then there should be no problem at all.
One little problem that appeared on my red C4 - while trying to sort another issue, I did a check of the distributor timing. It appeared to be off by a tooth or two, when referencing the rotor marks on the dist body and the Z TDC mark on the pulley. This made no sense, as the car ran. As it turned out, a previous mechanic had removed the pulley from the hub and reinstalled it 180deg off. This issue was going to make future valve adjustments or distibutor timing very difficult.
Just worth a sanity check.
DWS964 is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 06:06 PM
  #8  
ian89C4
User
Thread Starter
 
ian89C4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Raeford, North Carolina
Posts: 510
Default

Thanks for the feedback

I do have another issue however

When I pulled the distributor back when I was taking the engine apart it came out with ease. While I putting the thing in yesterday I noticed that there was quite a bit of resistance going in. I used the new (correct) seal from the kit from Porsche so I don't think that was it.

So today I tried to pull the distributor to try and turn it so that it would line up TDC with Cylinder #1 at TDC. Well, it wouldn't come out, wouldn't budge

Finally got it out, but in so doing had cracked the shaft (see photo below) I checked on DC auto and a used one will be $400, so it will have to wait a little while before the engine can go back in

More importantly, does anyone know what may have caused this? i tried rotating the engine to see if the gears were just caught and that was not it.

Oh well......pics of the engine are below, as you can see, she is quite ready to go back in........
Attached Images    
ian89C4 is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:13 PM
  #9  
Indycam
Super User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: not in HRM
Posts: 5,061
Default

I see marks on the shaft housing . Looks like something jammed it up good and tight .
Indycam is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: