Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Center Console light cluster

 
Old 11-22-2009, 10:59 PM
  #1  
alfred_hybrid
User
Thread Starter
 
alfred_hybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 421
Default Center Console light cluster

I just ordered a spare 3-light center console cluster and will install white LED's in it to replace the old incandescents.

When I got my car, all the lights were out so I replaced the lights with LED's and have been very happy with it. I imagine the LED's will last as long as (or longer than) the car.

Is there any interest in this for anyone else? I'm thinking that I can ship out the spare with the white LED's in return for your old one with burnt out or still good incandescents and a few dollars to cover shipping, LED's and time.

Name:  lights.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  32.7 KB
alfred_hybrid is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:37 AM
  #2  
elbeee964
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
elbeee964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 5,089
Default

Went the LED route with mine, too. It's a fantastic rework. Highly recommended.
elbeee964 is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:56 AM
  #3  
Rocket Rob
IHI KING!
Rennlist Member

 
Rocket Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 12,572
Default

Matt,

Can you tell us where you got your LEDs and what part number is needed? My coupe has 2 of the 3 bulbs out.
Rocket Rob is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 08:19 AM
  #4  
alfred_hybrid
User
Thread Starter
 
alfred_hybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 421
Default

Originally Posted by Rocket Rob View Post
Matt,

Can you tell us where you got your LEDs and what part number is needed? My coupe has 2 of the 3 bulbs out.

I got mine from the Fry's nearby, but I also ordered these as spare and for the spoiler light and any others that may come up.
alfred_hybrid is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 09:01 AM
  #5  
meek
User
 
meek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 898
Default

Matt, I assume you have to solder the LEDs in place? I have two bulbs out and was thinking of doing the LED upgrade.

Last edited by meek; 11-23-2009 at 01:17 PM.
meek is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 09:20 AM
  #6  
alfred_hybrid
User
Thread Starter
 
alfred_hybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 421
Default

Yes, you have to de-solder the old bulbs out, get all of the old solder off of the board and then solder the new LED's in, obviously keeping the polarity of the LED's correct.

There are 3 lights in the lock/hazard/master alarm set, but don't forget the spoiler switch has one to replace as well.
alfred_hybrid is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 09:47 AM
  #7  
elbeee964
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
elbeee964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 5,089
Default

[anonymous voice from the back of the room]
"I nomintate Matt to lead a DIY thread!"
elbeee964 is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 10:18 AM
  #8  
Gregg-K
User
 
Gregg-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 202
Default

Keep in mind the legends in the face of the console are red, so there is no need to use white LEDs. I used cheap & cheerful 3mm Red LEDs when I did mine last year ... nothing special, just some I had lying around.

While polarity is important, remember also that you need to install a resistor of about 680 ohms in series with each LED ... otherwise they will burn out.

.> Gregg
Gregg-K is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 11:23 AM
  #9  
meek
User
 
meek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 898
Default

Thanks chaps, I will give it a try and come back when I have cocked it up.
meek is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 11:49 AM
  #10  
alfred_hybrid
User
Thread Starter
 
alfred_hybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 421
Default

Originally Posted by elbeee964 View Post
[anonymous voice from the back of the room]
"I nomintate Matt to lead a DIY thread!"
There is a good DIY on John's UK web site. The only thing it's missing is which way the LED's should be installed and a how-to soldering guide. I may give it a shot on the next one I receive.

Originally Posted by Gregg-K View Post
Keep in mind the legends in the face of the console are red, so there is no need to use white LEDs. I used cheap & cheerful 3mm Red LEDs when I did mine last year ... nothing special, just some I had lying around.

While polarity is important, remember also that you need to install a resistor of about 680 ohms in series with each LED ... otherwise they will burn out.

.> Gregg
I used red LED's in my car. I'll swap them to white as I would like it a bit brighter.

Regarding the resistor, the LED's I bought and linked to above have the resistor built in so they're ready to install in a 12V DC application.
alfred_hybrid is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 02:02 PM
  #11  
stevepaa
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: san jose california
Posts: 1,334
Default

I could not find LEDs that would work when I did mine. Thanks for posting the link.
stevepaa is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 02:43 PM
  #12  
Gus
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga
Posts: 1,746
Default

"While polarity is important, remember also that you need to install a resistor of about 680 ohms in series with each LED ... otherwise they will burn out."

Are you saying that for every LED installed I need to have a 680 ohms resistor wired into the hot side- Is this shown in Alfreds pic??
Gus is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 02:47 PM
  #13  
Gus
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Gus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga
Posts: 1,746
Default

Alfred - just read your note - So LED's with the resistor installed are available - or if you get 12V Leds you don't need the resistors -
I have been to Radio Shack and gotten some 12 volt LEDs - but they don't say anything about having a resistor - So I would need to install the resistor on the hot side ?
Gus is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 03:21 PM
  #14  
alfred_hybrid
User
Thread Starter
 
alfred_hybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 421
Default

I'm no E.E., but a 12V LED is wired for 12V DC already, so they should be fine w/o the resistor. The ones I picked up from Fry's and the ones I linked to above are described as having the resistor built in such that they will work for 12V.

I tried Radio Shack first and didn't find anything I could use there.
alfred_hybrid is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 03:59 PM
  #15  
Gregg-K
User
 
Gregg-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 202
Default

Originally Posted by Gus View Post
Alfred - just read your note - So LED's with the resistor installed are available - or if you get 12V Leds you don't need the resistors -
I have been to Radio Shack and gotten some 12 volt LEDs - but they don't say anything about having a resistor - So I would need to install the resistor on the hot side ?
Right: if you buy common-garden LEDs, they will each need a resistor in series with one of the leads ... doesn't matter which one. This is because LEDs are current-driven devices, and when driven from a voltage source (like your battery), require a resistor to limit the current. Without a resistor, they will (momentarily) attempt to draw infinite current ... and blow.

The "12 volt LEDs" should have a series resistor built in, but those are not very common. Wiring an external resistor in series with an ordinary LED is an easy way of making it into a "12 volt" LED.

.. Gregg

Last edited by Gregg-K; 11-23-2009 at 04:01 PM. Reason: Clarification
Gregg-K is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: