Tune-up maintainence - newbie questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2008, 06:36 PM
-nick
Three Wheelin'

Received 104 Likes on 80 Posts
Default Tune-up maintainence - newbie questions

Hi folks,
I've got a few things going on with the C4 and I was hoping for a little feedback from those that have taken care of the tune-up basics. This is my first year of ownership so I anticipated spending some cash to get everything up to snuff.

The first is the PDAS and "Brake" warning lights light up occasionally while driving - then they stay on until I restart the car. Seems to happen less often if I restart while the car is hot. I'm thinking plug wires?

Possibly related, I'm only hitting about 22mph on the highway and around 16mpg city. This is with a _very_ heavy foot, but not heavy enough to warrant such bad mileage.

Also, on cold start-ups, the idle tends to fluctuate quite a lot and the car feels like it hesitates slightly on take-off.

The car just crossed 64k miles and I don't have a record of new wires/caps/rotors/plugs. Is it safe to say that this needs done at this point? What are the odds that the new parts plug a valve adjustment will solve all these problems?

The other question is that my brake pad light just lit up for the first time this week and I simultaneously noticed a light brake squeal from the rear. Is there anything to watch out for when replacing the rear pads on a C4 or is it the same protocol as the C2?

I'm shopping around and there is a wide-variety of parts prices on pads. The Porsche-branded pads being around $150/pr, OEM Jurid at $70/pr, etc. Is there actually a difference?

To finish this off - spark plug wires, really $600? That was a bit of a surprise...
Old 11-03-2008, 07:05 PM
Duck
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

For the PDAS and Brake warning lights, check you brake fluid level. If it is slightly low, it can cause the lights to come on.