Sponsored by:

Should I Make the Leap? (Long)

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2001, 12:08 AM
kurtl
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Should I Make the Leap? (Long)

I am a newbie poster and, hopefully soon, a newbie Porsche owner. After passively researching cars for the better part of this year, I drove a 964 on Saturday. Now I can think of nothing else! Please share any thoughts on the following purchase.

I found a 1990 964 C4 cab at Exotic Autowerks in Seattle. Black/black and 24,000 miles. Price is $38,900. The car is a one-owner and local. Let's assume all the service receipts and PPI check out fine. (I have gratefully noted many postings on the typical problems and fixes.)

I know one school of thought is to buy as much car as one can afford. The bank apparently thinks I can afford a decent 993 and, before Saturday, I favored a 993. However, the 964 is also very attractive and I know I would enjoy it. Also, if I continue to pine after a 993, I can likely trade up in a few years without a huge penalty.

Should I make the leap? Is the price fair (hard to tell after checking a handful of Internet price guides)? Any information about Exotic Autowerks? Anything else? Thanks so much!

Kurt
Old 11-28-2001, 12:25 AM
John K
Intermediate

Assuming the car needs nothing and has all records, the price seems a little steep. It is a complete buyers market right now. People are unloading their toys left and right. I would check a few classified sites to get a feel for the prices on comparable cars. Try autotrader.com for prices in different U.S. markets. You should be able to find a comparable car in the low 30's at the highest. Take your time and drive/look at as many cars as possible. If nothing else, you will have some leverage for negotiating.
Good luck and try to enjoy the process of looking.
Old 11-28-2001, 02:43 AM
SonnyV
Addict
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Kurt,