Sponsored by:

Convertible top madness

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2019, 09:23 PM
Goughary
Race Car

Received 395 Likes on 262 Posts
Default Convertible top madness

Unfortunately - i didn't make a madness thread for the cab I've been working on for the past four months. I've done literally hundreds of little fixes.

Name:  photo431.jpg
Views: 702
Size:  1.32 MB

That's the car. 92 cab. 78k Miles. Nice car, but the current owner has lived with it for 18 years, bought from the original owner, and has only fixed the things that needed to be fixed over the years, which meant that all the little stuff was left languishing, waiting patiently for my arrival.

So we did, like i said, hundreds of things- too many to list here really...but currently, it's a really good car, and almost fully sorted. Getting there.

But let's talk about convertible tops- cuz i knew next to nothing about the convertible tops when i started...just never had to fix one.

When you look for threads on the convertible top issues- there is virtually zero information. And i may not be much better here, as i have taken limited photos.

There are a couple of good YouTube videos on testing the top function however, which can be helpful in figuring out where the issue is in the top.

Anyone who happens to be a convertible top expert- please correct anything i say here that is incorrect.

For the top to function - there are a bunch of things - stars really - that need to align. And if the pagan convertible gods are on your side, the top will move when commanded.

First. The car has to be off, with the parking brake on, then turn the key two clicks to "on" without starting the car. Then push the button, hold until the top is all the way down. And whalla! Top is down.