Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Prototipo and steering column covers

 
Old 03-18-2019, 01:55 AM
  #1  
_Remi
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 165
Default Prototipo and steering column covers

Hi,

I installed a Momo Prototipo this afternoon and I am pretty happy with the new feel! I am facing a small issue: the steering column covers seem to be a bit too tight now and rub agains the (new) hub. As a result, steering is a bit harder and does not center back by itself. I am thinking about slightly sanding the covers and putting them back on. Am I the only one with that problem?

Thanks!
_Remi is offline  
Old 03-18-2019, 02:35 AM
  #2  
Spyerx
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Spyerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,172
Default

Nope. You need to slightly clearance it
Spyerx is offline  
Old 03-18-2019, 10:20 AM
  #3  
LPMM
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
LPMM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,886
Default

+1, I also had to clearance mine. I used a can of food that was close to the size of the opening and lined it with sandpaper. It helped keep the radius and prevented flat spots.
LPMM is offline  
Old 03-18-2019, 05:07 PM
  #4  
_Remi
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 165
Default

Thanks, I will grind It is already making a ton of difference, I love it.

Yes, the airbag light bridge plug is on its way

_Remi is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 05:15 PM
  #5  
Silvertarga
User
 
Silvertarga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: chin on taint
Posts: 1,124
Default

paint the front of the turn signal housing black while cover is off
Silvertarga is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 10:14 PM
  #6  
Sirenty
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Sirenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 128
Default

You can move the lever controls forward and back on the column if you need more room, so you don’t need to mess with the covers.

Replaced mine recently and it took a little to get it back to the right spot.
Sirenty is offline  
Old 03-20-2019, 02:53 AM
  #7  
samurai_k
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
samurai_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norcal
Posts: 892
Default

I had a similar experience with install of a 993RS wheel. Check out my blog in my signature. You can basically adjust the turn signal/wiper/cruise cluster where it is mounted on the steering column. I can assume you can loosen it slightly to give you enough to move the cluster toward the front so you don't have friction issue with your wheel.
samurai_k is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: