Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   964 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/964-forum-59/)
-   -   Radar detector hard wire power (https://rennlist.com/forums/964-forum/1118030-radar-detector-hard-wire-power.html)

gregmitch 12-11-2018 09:34 AM

Radar detector hard wire power

1 Attachment(s)
I'm looking to hardwire my radar detector and pull power that is switched on by the ignition. Been searching around and trying to get a definitive answer as to what wire to easily tap from the head unit behind the dash. At first I thought it was a red wire that's ignition switched on and then someone with a 1991 said their wires were switched and it was the red/black wire that's ignition powered.

I've tried looking at the workshop manual electrical schematics (attached to this thread), but I'm not too sure what the numbers (2.5, 1.0) actually mean. I'm a beginner when it comes to wiring.

spartansix 12-11-2018 10:51 AM

The numbers on the schematic refer to the size of the wire in mm^2.
2.5 mm^2 wire is ~AWG 14, 0.75 m^2 wire is ~AWG 18, etc.

More importantly, if you have the continental radio then there should be two plugs (three if you count the antenna connection) on the back of it.
The large black plug should have a red wire which is switched 12v+ (ignition) and a yellow wire which is constant 12v+ (battery)
Tapping the red wire will give you switched power for your radar detector, but the radar detector may cause interference with your radio.
If this happens, you can try smoothing the interference with a ferrite bead or power filter, or you can tap a different source (e.g. cigarette lighter, seat motor power, etc.)

gregmitch 12-11-2018 11:34 AM

Originally Posted by spartansix (Post 15489672)
The numbers on the schematic refer to the size of the wire in mm^2.
2.5 mm^2 wire is ~AWG 14, 0.75 m^2 wire is ~AWG 18, etc.